Shinsuke Yamanaka

Shinsuke Yamanaka avatar image
Shinsuke Yamanaka professional boxer headshot

Shinsuke Yamanaka









Shinsuke Yamanaka, a former professional boxer, left his mark in the sport with his notable victories and world title wins. Throughout his career, Yamanaka had a total of 31 fights, winning 27 of them, with 19 of those being knockout wins. He had two losses, both of which were via stoppage, and two draws with no no-contests.

Yamanaka started his boxing career in 2006 at the age of 23, defeating Hitoshi Takahashi via unanimous decision. He had his first world title fight at the age of 29 on November 6, 2011, after 16 professional fights when he defeated Christian Esquivel via 11th round TKO, becoming the bantamweight champion of the world. Yamanaka won a total of two world titles at bantamweight, and successfully defended his WBC title 12 times with a total of 9 wins being via knockout.

Throughout Yamanaka's professional career, some of his most notable victories include wins over Carlos Carlson, Jose Nieves, Anselmo Moreno, Vic Darchinyan, Tomás Rojas, Diego Santillan, and Stephane Jamoye. These victories are just a few of the highlights of his career.

However, Yamanaka also had two losses in his professional career, both of which were in title bouts. His first loss was against Luis Nery via 4th round TKO, ending his 27-fight win streak. Yamanaka lost his second and final fight against Mexican boxer Luis Nery on March 1, 2018, via 2nd round TKO, losing the fight for the vacant bantamweight WBC title, and ending his career with a record of 27-2-2.

November 6, 2011, was a significant milestone for Yamanaka as he won his first world title against Christian Esquivel via 11th round TKO. This gave him a chance to defend his WBC bantamweight title, and Yamanaka did just that against Vic Darchinyan, winning the fight via 12 round unanimous decision. He followed that up with successful defenses of his WBC title against Tomás Rojas, winning the fight via 7th round KO, and against Malcolm Tuñacao, winning the fight via 12th round TKO. On August 12, 2013, Yamanaka had an impressive 1st round KO win over Jose Nieves, successfully defending his WBC title for the fourth time.

After those wins, Yamanaka continued to have successful title defenses, including a win against Carlos Carlson on March 2, 2017. Yamanaka successfully defended his WBC and The Ring bantamweight titles, winning the fight via 7th round TKO.

Yamanaka's career is a testament to his skill and determination as a boxer. His record speaks for itself, and his successful title defenses prove that he was a force to be reckoned with in the ring. Though his career is now over, he will always be remembered as one of the top bantamweight boxers of his time.

Shinsuke Yamanaka Fight Record

# Date Age Opponent Result Via
31 Mar 1, 2018 35 Luis Nery Loss TKO2
30 Aug 15, 2017 34 Luis Nery Loss TKO4
29 Mar 2, 2017 34 Carlos Carlson Win TKO7
28 Sep 16, 2016 33 Anselmo Moreno Win TKO7
27 Mar 4, 2016 33 Liborio Solís Win UD
26 Sep 22, 2015 32 Anselmo Moreno Win SD
25 Apr 16, 2015 32 Diego Santillan Win KO7
24 Oct 22, 2014 32 Suriyan Sor Rungvisai Win UD
23 Apr 23, 2014 31 Stephane Jamoye Win TKO9
22 Nov 10, 2013 31 Alberto Guevara Win KO9
21 Aug 12, 2013 30 Jose Nieves Win KO1
20 Apr 8, 2013 30 Malcolm Tuñacao Win TKO12
19 Nov 3, 2012 30 Tomás Rojas Win KO7
18 Apr 6, 2012 29 Vic Darchinyan Win UD
17 Nov 6, 2011 29 Christian Esquivel Win TKO11
16 Mar 5, 2011 28 Ryosuke Iwasa Win TKO10
15 Oct 24, 2010 28 José Silveira Win RTD9
14 Jun 20, 2010 27 Mikio Yasuda Win TKO7
13 Mar 6, 2010 27 Kazuharu Morimoto Win KO1
12 Nov 7, 2009 27 Yuta Uetani Win TKO1
11 Jul 4, 2009 26 Masanori Murata Win TKO1
10 Mar 21, 2009 26 Wanpadechsuk Sithsaithong Win TKO3
9 Jan 17, 2009 26 Ryuichi Funai Win TKO7
8 Oct 4, 2008 25 Zaragoza Uema Win UD
7 Apr 22, 2008 25 Kenichi Yamaguchi Draw PTS
6 Oct 31, 2007 25 Toyoto Shiraishi Win MD
5 Aug 29, 2007 24 Yoichi Oguma Win SD
4 Apr 7, 2007 24 Takeo Sato Win TKO2
3 Dec 16, 2006 24 Yuta Sato Win TKO2
2 Aug 23, 2006 23 Keiji Yokomamura Draw PTS
1 Jan 7, 2006 23 Hitoshi Takahashi Win UD